WHO Region of the Americas

Table of Contents

Certified Malaria-Free Countries

Country/territory Countries certified malaria-free Countries where malaria never existed or disappeared without specific measures
Antigua and Barbuda 2012
Argentina 2019
Bahamas 2012
Barbados 1968
Canada 1965
Chile 1968
Cuba 1973
Dominica 1966
El Salvador 2021
Grenada 1962
Jamaica 1966
Paraguay 2018
Saint Kitts and Nevis 2012
Saint Lucia 1962
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines 2012
Trinidad and Tobago 1965
United States of America 1970
Uruguay 2012
WHO Region of the Americas: Certified Malaria-Free Countries

Regional Scenario 2021

  • Accounted for 0.2% of global malaria cases - contributed by 17 malaria-endemic countries and one territory with three countries – Brazil, Colombia and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela – accounting for an estimated 79% region-wide.
  • Missed the GTS 2020 morbidity and mortality milestones* and remains off track by 48% and 35%, respectively.

*The Global Technical Strategy (GTS) aims for a reduction in malaria case incidence and mortality rate of at least 40% by 2020, 75% by 2025, and 90% by 2030 from a 2015 baseline.


World Health Organization. (2022). Countries and territories certified malaria-free by WHO. Retrieved from https://www.who.int/teams/global-malaria-programme/elimination/countries-and-territories-certified-malaria-free-by-who.

World Health Organization. (2022). World malaria report 2022. World Health Organization. https://apps.who.int/iris/handle/10665/365169. License: CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 IGO